Tags

, , , ,

Last year I fixed 5 pairs of my favorite jeans when I got inspiration from a pair of new-but-made-to-look-worn jeans I recently bought. If you have a sewing machine you can either do a Decorative Stitching Patch or a Semi-Invisible Patch. The difference depends on where the tear or hole is located on the jeans and what color of thread and patch you use. The Decorative Stitching Patch Looks like this:

This stitch is used when the tear or hole is in a visible place like on the front thighs or knees of jeans. In the example below I used light yellow thread with a dark colored pocket from an old pair of jeans to contrast. If you can’t hide it you might as well make it look like it’s mean’t to be there.

My coworker recently asked me to repair her favorite jeans for her and the tear in her jeans was right at the back pocket so I decided to do a Semi-Invisible Patch.

Here’s what you will need:

Heavy Duty Sewing Needles, Scissors, Matching Jean Patch, Matching Thread

Turn the jeans inside out and center your patch face down on the tear then pin it to the jeans.

Turn them right side out and get ready to sew. Choose a wide zig zag setting on your sewing machine and stitch across the tear.

Repeat this step by turning the jeans all the way around and sewing back the other way by or using the reverse button on your sewing machine. Repeat as many times as you feel makes it seem secure (about 3-4 times). Then turn the jeans inside out again and remove the pins.

Trim off the excess patch from around the stitching.

Turn the jeans right side out and admire your handiwork!

Check them out from farther away and you can barely see the patch.

Now that I’ve started patching my jeans, I’ve been noticing that jeans that are made of mostly cotton tend to be the ones that easily rip along the seams especially if they are skinny jeans and even if they are fairly new. Jeans that have at least 2% Spandex and/or less cotton tend to be more comfortable and less susceptible to tearing. It’s definitely helped me to know what to look for when I go jean shopping.

DIY Braided Bead Bracelet

If you are craving another DIY here’s a cute one I saw last week I’d like to eventually try: (via Honestly…WTF)

DIY Braided Bead Bracelet Click the pic.

The Twist!

The Twist hairstyle is back again and they are actually easier than you might think. I really like the one on the right here:

The Twist via Beautylish

I’ve actually done that one quite a few times on myself and on my little sister. I found a great video explaining how to do it in less than a minute on Refinery29 go check it our here, it will be your go to style when you need a quick but done up look.

This Week’s Nail Art

I’ve been letting my nails breath for a few weeks but now I’m back at it again. Check out this week’s nail art:

Jacobs of the Jungle

I leave you with this lovable video for Marc Jacobs. He definitely has a way of thinking outside the box.

Enjoy!

xo

TNT