Tags

, , , ,

Christmas Cards!

Christmas is almost here! Have you done your Christmas cards yet? This year for our Christmas cards I decided to do photo cards since I hadn’t done them in about 5 years or so. I enlisted the help of my good friend Neil, who’s a photographer, to come out and help us make this years Christmas photos look amazing. It was the beginning of October when California weather gears up for winter. I decided we would go to Huntington Beach, since that’s my favorite local beach, and take some fun pix of us in the sand. I think photo cards should say something about your personal style, your location and that moment in time or even something about that year for you. I wore a colorful dress with hidden leopard print that I love and have been wearing all year along with some bangles and a dainty gold necklace my mom gave me. I was never a fan of gold jewelry until about April of this year when I discovered that it goes great with my hair color especially when I wear brown which is a color I never really considered wearing before this year as well. Since I had some brown in my dress, I picked out a brown button up shirt and slacks for my husband. It was great having a friend like Neil taking the photos because we had a fun and relaxed time shooting which is important and can make all the difference with family photos sometimes. He was there making us laugh every step of the way while capturing some really awesome moments, sometimes when we weren’t even looking. The photos turned out better than I could have asked for with no photoshop required! Now that’s talent my friends! It was a beautiful, mostly sunny day, with a little wind brushing our cheeks with chill. When I was ready to make a photo card I headed over to Zazzle.com and had some printed up in plenty of time before the holidays. I still have quite a few left over so if you didn’t get one already and you want one please feel free to send me your address and I’ll send one out to you 🙂 I realized I don’t have many of my friend’s addresses so sorry if I missed you! Here’s how it turned out:

2011/12 Carson Christmas Cards

Exclusive to my blog, here’s all of the great shots we took that day:

Festive Nail Art

Ok so I’m keeping up with my manicure now and trying new things I see online. Today’s nail art was inspired by Refinery29 where I saw 3 DIY Festive & Fun Holiday Nail Art. This week I chose this one to try:

Festive & Funky Holiday Nail Art DIYs by Refinery29 Click to see more

I decided to use a blue that was more aqua because I had some matching glittery nail polish to spice it up. The only thing is I don’t think the brush I was using was thin enough to achieve the above look and since this was my very first attempt at using a long thin brush, this is how it turned out. Eh!

Snowfall

I’m going to try it again so hopefully I’ll have better luck next time. At least the process was fun! Now all I need are better brushes. Wanna send me some? lol I’ll have to put that on my wish list for Santa this year. Meanwhile, I’ve been taking necessary steps to prolong my nail art thanks to The Budget Fashionista who posted an article titled 5 Ways to Keep Nails From Chipping.

This Year in Vogue

Fashionista.com posted an article looking back at this year’s Vogue Covers entitled This Year in Vogue: An Analysis of all the Covers from 2011. The part I found most interesting is that models actually got more covers than celebrities! That is a major victory for models this year! Kudos to Vogue for keeping models on covers.

This Year in Vogue: An Analysis of all the Vogue Covers from 2011 (click to see more)

Chanel‘s Métiers d’Art Pre-Fall 2012 Collection

Everyone is talking about the show Karl Lagerfeld put on for Chanel’s Métiers d’Art Pre-Fall 2012 collection mainly because the runway was absolutely amazing!! It looks like a winter wonderland feast!

And the clothes, OMG!, are stunning with such detail! The theme was Paris-Bombay so many of the pieces were inspired by India fashion. I definitely recommend watching the full video via Chanel.com if you have 17 minutes to spare or check out each and every amazing look via Style.com.

Chanel Pre-Fall 2012 Collection via Style.com (click the pic to see more)

A Harvey Nichols Christmas 2011

I saw this hilarious video this week for designer Harvey Nichols that you must watch. Never have I seen an advertisement like this. I must say, very creative…

A Harvey Nichols Christmas 2011 – Ever faced the Walk of Shame?